The Shadows of Life

This line speaks to me every time, I watch this scene. I hate to say how many times I’ve watched Two Towers. Well enough about me. Let’s examine this …too long have you sat in the shadows.. Gandalf speaks to King Théoden whose mind is possessed by Sauron. What shadows are in your life—or how long have you sat in the shadows. There are so many shadows in our life.

Shadows of insecurity-I will never be good enough.

Shadows of control- You will do what I ask you to do.

Shadows of fear- Will the economy ever get better?

Gandalf says to King Théoden, “I will release you. After Théoden realizes he has been under the influence too long. He realizes his son Theodred is dead. Eomer his nephew is gone. Then he looks at his assistant Grima Wormtongue. “You would have me crawling on all fours like a beast.” This is an example of what shadows do to our lives. It makes us realize what we have lost and what we have missed.

Being kept in the shadows keeps us from recognizing the ones we love and how our loves ones love us. Once we are out of the shadows we are able to move forward in life.

Whatever shadows are in your life, and you are able to conquer them on your own. Then do so! If not then seek help. Please release yourself from the shadows.

The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers. Perf. Elijah Wood and Sean Astin. 2002. Film.

One thought on “The Shadows of Life

  1. Great post on the shadows of our lives, Leah. I have been in the room while my daughter watched The Two Towers, but have always been too busy with other things to pay attention to it. After reading this, I want to watch it. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

